Nanooks beat Seawolves in shootout for sixth straight Governor’s Cup

Sun Star Staff Report

ANCHORAGE – The UAF Nanooks hockey team won the Governor’s Cup for the sixth time in a row, beating the Seawolves 3-2 in the final match, at the Sullivan Arena Saturday.

Screen Shot 2015-03-09 at 11.42.12

The Nanooks won the Governor’s Cup for a sixth year in a row after a shootout with UAA. Photo courtesy of Todd Paris.

Since the series was split two games a piece, it culminated in a shoot out, which ended 1-0 in favor of the Nanooks with Tyler Morley scoring. Seven of the eight Cup series that have ended in a shootout were won by the Nanooks.

All three of the goals from the Nanooks were scored within the second period by Tayler Munson, Trevor Campbell and Josh Erickson, respectively.

The Seawolves also made their two goals in the second period. Tad Kozun made the first soon after Nanook’s Erickson made his. The second goal was taken by Austin Azurdia with five seconds left in the period.

While this is the sixth straight win in the Governor’s Cup by the Nanooks, the NCAA no longer recognizes the wins in 2010, 2011 and 2012 because of NCAA violations by the UAF Athletic Department.

This series marks the end of the regular season for the Nanooks, who, while finishing 4th in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association with a 19-13-2, win-loss-overtime loss, overall record, are barred from postseason play this season for NCAA violations.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *